Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
There is no fee for an inspection. However, if the unit fails the scheduled inspection, a $25 fee will be charged for the re-inspection. A requested inspection not needed to satisfy code would incur a $25 fee.
Show All Answers
City Code sets minimum standards for the protection of health, safety, morals and general welfare of the public and of the owners and occupants of dwellings in the City of Cumberland. It is unlawful for the owner(s) of any rental dwelling unit to permit occupancy of any rental dwelling unit by another unless it is licensed by the City of Cumberland and every licensed dwelling unit shall be inspected on an occupancy basis. To license a new rental, visit the Community Development’s online portal: Citizenserve. To schedule an inspection, it can be done through the portal once you are registered and licensed, or you may call the Office of Community Development at 301-722-2000 Ext. 5600.
If a residential unit is not the personal residence of the owner or one person named on deed, anyone living there - whether paying rent or not - would classify the unit as a residential rental unit and be required to adhere to the rental licensing and inspection process.
If an owner of a residential rental unit(s) is not a resident of Allegany County, Maryland, a person or business entity must be named to serve as representative agent. A local agent is invaluable in dealing with issues that may not be easily handled from afar. The agent shall serve as the owner’s local representative for all purposes related to this code. The agent shall be responsible for the management, maintenance, operation, and rental of an owner’s rental dwelling unit(s). Agents must reside within or have principal offices located within Allegany County, Maryland.
Yes, you must notify the Community Development Department within 10 days of any change in ownership, or you will remain responsible for the residential rental license. Contacting another department within the City will not assure the information is forwarded. Please call 301-722-2000 ext. 5600, or send by mail to: 57 N. Liberty St., Cumberland, MD 21502.
Every licensed rental unit shall be inspected upon registration with the City’s rental program and then follows each time occupancy changes, unless an inspection has occurred within the last twelve (12) months.After twelve (12) months, an occupancy inspection shall be required prior to re-occupancy of the rental unit. In addition, every licensed rental dwelling unit shall comply with the Maryland Lead Law and complete any required lead inspection(s) prior to occupancy. All inspection documentation must be maintained by the owner and/or agent and be available for review by the City of Cumberland upon request. Contact the Community Development Department at City Hall to schedule a housing inspection.
A list of Maryland lead inspectors can be found on the Maryland Department of the Environment’s website. Additionally, a list of local inspectors is available through the Community Development Department at City Hall. Inspectors use a variety of methods to test and charge accordingly.
The owner of a rental dwelling unit must license the rental with the City and shall pay the license fee ($25 per unit, per fiscal year). The license fee will be renewed annually, in July.
Any owner of a rental dwelling unit who shall fail to pay the license fee shall be subject to a municipal infraction in the amount of $500 per unit, in addition to the unpaid license fee(s).